Tags

Here goes my very first blog entry. Technically, it’s not the first time I’m blogging – I used to own a blog when I was still in school, it even used to have its circle of readers. But then the university started and it was all forgotten. Now that I’m about to embark on a journey of my lifetime, a PhD, I decided to start a blog again. And this blog happens to be Academic In Progress.

The title is really just my vision of the future posts here – thoughts, struggles, victories, woes… more simply, life of an aspiring academic in training. Going for a PhD is something I’ve wanted for a long long time, and I realised I would love to remember as much as possible from this experience. I also came across the advice to start a blog on various internet forums for postgraduates: it helps you practice writing (or writing in English) and express your thoughts coherently. I am thankful to students who followed this advice, because reading their blogs was helpful to me. My programme only starts in September, so I hope I got a clearer understanding of what to expect (I’ll write sometime later whether this was actually true!). I also realised that all the doubts, insecurities and a general feeling of never knowing enough, all of which I experienced while writing my Master’s dissertation and later my research proposal, are normal. Or at least this is what it looks like. Knowing it only helps a little though – I think my ‘impostor syndrome’ is too deep-rooted at this point. Indeed, it creeped back in about a week after I got to know I won a place in the PhD programme and it looks like it’s here to stay. I’m yet to find a way to cope with it, but I will surely work very very hard so that nobody notices that I’m an impostor 🙂

I can only hope that this blog will someday comfort or enlighten others like some wonderful blogs did to me. But to me it will be a record of what it means to live a dream and be exactly where I want to be at this point of my life.

